Destiny Bay
Wines
Waiheke Island – New Zealand

The perfect marriage of heaven and earth

Destiny Bay Winery was founded in 2000 by Mike Spratt and his wife Ann on Waiheke Island. Today it covers around 6.2 hectares of vineyards, which are planted with the grape varieties Cabernet Sauvignon (60%), Merlot (20%), Cabernet Franc (10%), Malbec (8%) and Petit Verdot (2%) known from Bordeaux.

The company, whose wines are now made by Mike and Ann’s son Sean, is considered the only true specialist in Cabernet Sauvignon blends in New Zealand and a leading producer of Cabernet-dominant blends. The wines are highly appreciated and highly rated, not only by wine critic Robert Parker. In July 2021, the winery was voted the best winery of the year by New Zealand trade journalists. And quite a few wine connoisseurs consider the products of Destiny Bay to be among the best wines in New Zealand.

In order to bring this top quality to the bottle year after year, the Pratt family relies on very extreme yield reduction, meticulous vineyard work, manual harvesting, elaborate grape selection, careful work in the cellar as well as environmentally friendly and sustainable viticulture and winemaking practices.

The final harvest is between 0.5 and 2.2 kilos per vine. Which is significantly lower than those classified by the large Bordeaux plants such as Château Lafite Rothschild. All grapes are harvested by hand and sorted in the vineyard before being transported in small containers a few hundred meters to the winery. There they are gently destemmed in a careful process, sieved and sorted again by hand. Only the best berries get to the actual winemaking, which can be different depending on the grape variety and the vintage-specific goals. To achieve optimal color, tannin and flavor extraction, Destiny Bay uses cold maceration, prolonged maceration, gentle immersion of the pomace hat and pumping in the fermentation of the wine. The process of maceration, which can take more than a month, is continuously monitored and analyzed.

The transport of the wine into the barrels in the maturation cellar is largely carried out in free run with the help of gravity. Mechanical pumping is dispensed with. Individual 200- or 225-liter barriques made of French or American oak are used to age the wine.

Waiheke Island – The fantastic island location

Destiny Bay Wines is located on Waiheke Island, a small island in the Hauraki Gulf, about nineteen kilometers northeast of Auckland. The vineyard is located on the protected southern edge of the island and is laid out in a small, crater-shaped valley that opens to the north. The high eastern, southern and western ridges of the vineyard protect the vines from the strong winds, which often endanger the fruit set on vines in maritime locations. They and the warm northern orientation act like natural solar panels during the phases of growth and maturation. The slope of the seven vineyard blocks ranges from 12 degrees to over 30 degrees. Due to this, all blocks must be processed by hand.

The climate on Waiheke is different from other regions of New Zealand, such as Marlborough. It is hotter and drier and more similar to the climate in parts of Bordeaux in France or napa Valley in California. But unlike Bordeaux and Napa, Waiheke Island has a real maritime climate. This acts like a natural air conditioner and prevents heat extremes from dictating crop decisions, as is sometimes the case in Bordeaux and Napa.

During the warm summer months, inland temperatures can rise to over 30 degrees Celsius. As the large landmass of the central Waikato region heats up, it attracts sea breezes from the north. Across the Firth of Thames Bay. The island of Waiheke lies precisely in this cooling air flow, which ensures that the temperature peaks are mitigated. The slightly cool nights there near the sea also favor a gentle ripening of the flavors and aromas of the grape varieties.

Destiny Bay’s bottom profile is completely unique. The geological composition of the soil consists of a top layer of “crack clay” and volcanic clay underneath. The cracking of the clay-like soils causes a natural root cut, which reduces the growth power of the vines and increases the concentration of taste, while the clay improves the elegance and mouthfeel of the wines.

This unique interplay of soil, location and climate, combined with meticulous winemaking techniques and passion, allows Destiny Bay to create a small number of distinctive, balanced, full-bodied Cabernet blends.

Focus on sustainable management

Ecological balance is more than a social responsibility for the Pratt family. For them, protecting the planet is part of the good practice of viticulture and winemaking. The winery, certified for sustainable viticulture, therefore invests a lot of time and money in a variety of environmentally friendly practices. In order to protect the special soils, the location and the mesoclimate of the vineyard, the following activities are in focus:

  • Reuse of all vegetable substances and waste water
  • Comprehensive energetic insulation and insulation measures in the barrel hall, in the fermentation room as well as in the maturation and storage rooms.
  • Keep hygiene and water management systems up to date with the latest technology
  • Use of energy-efficient techniques for winemaking (i.e. natural aeration, thermal preservation, etc…)
  • Gravity-assisted winemaking to minimize handling and energy consumption
  • Optimized use of natural ventilation for heating and cooling throughout the winery and vineyards
  • Use of natural light and energy-saving lighting technology to reduce energy consumption
  • Vertically integrated production
  • Pursue a low-volume, high-quality strategy that reduces the carbon footprint by at least half
  • Promotion of a soil microbiome and recycling of natural nitrogen through the use of organic fermenters, fungi and nutrients
  • Planting of ground covers to reduce spraying agents and mechanical work
  • Planting over 500 native trees to offset carbon production
  • Use of state-of-the-art temperature monitoring and control
  • Use of corks that cause 24 times less CO2 emissions than screw caps
  • Use of environmentally friendly sprays to avoid heavy metal toxicity that occurs with the pure use of organic copper sprays.

the wines of destiny bay wines

588,00 

Includes 19% MwSt.
(784,00  / 1 L)

170,00 

Includes 19% MwSt.
(226,67  / 1 L)

402,00 

Includes 19% MwSt.
(536,00  / 1 L)

Destiny Bay Wines
Waiheke Island – Neuseeland

Die perfekt Vermählung von Himmel und Erde

Das Weingut Destiny Bay wurde im Jahr 2000 von Mike Spratt und seiner Frau Ann auf der Insel Waiheke gegründet. Es umfasst heute rund 6,2 Hektar Rebfläche, die mit den aus Bordeaux bekannten Rebsorten Cabernet Sauvignon (60%), Merlot (20%), Cabernet Franc (10%), Malbec (8%) und Petit Verdot (2%) bestockt sind.

Der Betrieb, dessen Weine mittlerweile von Mike und Anns Sohn Sean gemacht werden, gilt in Neuseeland als einziger echter Spezialist für Cabernet-Sauvignon-Mischungen und als führender Hersteller von Cabernet-dominanten Blends. Die Weine sind sehr geschätzt und hoch bewertet, nicht nur von Weinkritiker Robert Parker. Im Juli 2021 wurde das Weingut von neuseeländischen Fachjournalisten zum besten Weingut des Jahres gewählt. Und nicht wenige Weinkenner zählen die Produkte von Destiny Bay zu den besten Weinen Neuseelands.

Um Jahr für Jahr diese Spitzenqualität auf die Flasche zu bringen, setzt die Familie Pratt auf sehr extreme Ertragsreduktion, akribische Weinbergsarbeit, manuelle Lese, aufwändige Traubenselektion, sorgsames Arbeiten im Keller sowie auf umweltschonende und nachhaltige Weinbau- und Weinherstellungspraktiken.

So liegt die endgültige Erntemenge zwischen 0,5 und 2,2 Kilo pro Rebstock. Was deutlich niedriger ist, als die der großen Bordeaux klassifizierten Gewächse wie Château Lafite Rothschild. Alle Trauben werden von Hand geerntet und noch im Weinberg sortiert, bevor sie in kleinen Behältern ein paar hundert Meter zur Kellerei transportiert werden. Dort werden sie in einem sorgfältigen Verfahren sanft entrappt, gesiebt und von Hand erneut sortiert. Nur die besten Beeren gelangen zur eigentlichen Weinbereitung, die je nach Rebsorte und den jahrgangsspezifischen Zielen unterschiedlich sein kann. Um eine optimale Farbe, Tannin- und Geschmacksextraktion zu erreichen, setzt Destiny Bay Kaltmazeration, verlängerte Mazeration, sanftes Eintauchen des Tresterhutes und Umpumpen bei der Gärung des Weines ein. Der Prozeß der Mazeration, der mehr als einen Monat dauern kann wird laufend überwacht und analysiert.

Der Transport des Weins in die Fässer im Reifungskeller erfolgt zum Großteil im freien Lauf mit Hilfe der Schwerkraft. Auf mechanisches Umpumpen wird dabei verzichtet. Beim Ausbau des Weines kommen einzelne 200- oder 225-Liter-Barriques aus französischer oder amerikanischer Eiche zum Einsatz.

Waiheke Island – Die traumhafte Insellage

Destiny Bay Wines befindet sich auf Waiheke Island, einer kleinen Insel im Hauraki-Golf, etwa neunzehn Kilometer nordöstlich von Auckland. Der Weinberg liegt am geschützten Südrand der Insel und ist in einem kleinen, kraterförmigen Tal angelegt, das sich nach Norden hin öffnet. Die hohen Ost-, Süd- und Westkämme des Weinbergs schützen die Reben vor den starken Winden, die oft den Fruchtansatz an Reben in maritimen Lagen gefährden. Sie und die warme nördliche Ausrichtung, wirken während der Phasen des Wachstums und der Reifung wie natürliche Sonnenkollektoren. Die Hangneigung der insgesamt sieben Weinbergsblöcke reicht von 12 Grad bis über 30 Grad. Aufgrund dessen müssen alle Blöcke von Hand bearbeitet werden.

Das Klima auf Waiheke unterscheidet sich von anderen Regionen Neuseelands, wie zum Beispiel Marlborough. Es ist heißer und trockener und ähnelt eher dem Klima in Teilen von Bordeaux in Frankreich oder dem Napa Valley in Kalifornien. Doch im Gegensatz zu Bordeaux und Napa hat die Waiheke Insel ein echtes maritimes Klima. Dieses wirkt wie eine natürliche Klimaanlage und verhindert, dass Hitzeextreme die Ernteentscheidungen diktieren, wie es manchmal in Bordeaux und Napa der Fall ist.

Während der warmen Sommermonate können die Temperaturen im Landesinneren auf über 30 Grad Celsius steigen. Wenn sich die große Landmasse der der zentralen Waikato-Region aufheizt, zieht sie Meeresbrisen aus dem Norden an. Und zwar über die Bucht Firth of Thames. Die Insel Waiheke liegt genau in diesem kühlenden Luftstrom, der dafür sorgt, dass die Temperaturspitzen abgemildert werden. Die leicht kühlen Nächte dort in Meeresnähe begünstigen zudem eine sanfte Reifung der Geschmacksstoffe und Aromen der Rebsorten.

Das Bodenprofil von Destiny Bay ist völlig einzigartig. Die geologische Beschaffenheit des Bodens besteht aus einer obersten Schicht von „Risslehm“ und darunter liegendem Vulkanlehm. Die Rissigkeit der tonartigen Böden bewirkt einen natürlichen Wurzelschnitt, der die Wuchskraft der Reben reduziert und die Geschmackskonzentration erhöht, während der Lehm die Eleganz und das Mundgefühl der Weine verbessert.

Dieses einzigartige Zusammenspiel von Boden, Lage und Klima, kombiniert mit sorgfältigen Weinbereitungstechniken und Passion, ermöglicht es Destiny Bay, eine kleine Anzahl unverwechselbarer, ausgewogener, vollmundiger Cabernet-Blends zu erzeugen.

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften im Fokus

Ökologisches Gleichgewicht ist für die Familie Pratt mehr als eine soziale Verantwortung. Der Schutz des Planeten gehört für sie zur guten Praxis des Weinbaus und der Weinherstellung. Das für nachhaltigen Weinbau zertifizierte Weingut investiert daher viel Zeit und Geld in eine Vielzahl umweltfreundlicher Praktiken. Zum Schutz der besonderen Böden, der Lage und des Mesoklimas des Weinberges stehen folgende Aktivitäten im Brennpunkt:

  • Wiederverwendung aller pflanzlicher Stoffe und Abwässer
  • Umfassende energetische Isolierungs- und Dämmungsmaßnahmen in der Fasshalle, im Gärraum sowie in den Reifungs- und Lagerräumen.
  • Hygiene- und Wassermanagementsysteme laufend auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik halten
  • Einsatz energieeffizienter Techniken für die Weinherstellung (d.h. natürliche Belüftung, thermische Konservierung usw…)
  • Schwerkraftunterstützte Weinbereitung zur Minimierung der Handhabung und des Energieverbrauchs
  • Optimierte Nutzung der natürlichen Belüftung für Heizung und Kühlung in der gesamten Weinkellerei und den Weinbergen
  • Nutzung von natürlichem Licht und stromsparender Lichttechnik zur Senkung des Energieverbrauchs
  • Vertikal integrierte Produktion
  • Verfolgung einer Strategie mit geringem Volumen und hoher Qualität, die den Kohlenstoff-Fußabdruck um mindestens die Hälfte reduziert
  • Förderung eines Bodenmikrobioms und Recycling von natürlichem Stickstoff durch den Einsatz von organischen Fermentern, Pilzen und Nährstoffen
  • Pflanzung von Bodendeckern zur Verringerung von Spritzmitteln und mechanischer Arbeit
  • Pflanzung von über 500 einheimischen Bäumen zum Ausgleich der Kohlenstoffproduktion
  • Einsatz modernster Temperaturüberwachung und -kontrolle
  • Verwendung von Korken, die 24 Mal weniger CO2-Emissionen verursachen als Schraubverschlüsse
  • Verwendung von umweltfreundlichen Spritzmitteln zur Vermeidung von Schwermetalltoxizität, die bei reinem Einsatz von Organische Kupfersprays auftreten.

in Kürze bei cellardoor24 – die weine von destiny bay wines

Cabernet Franc

Waiheke Island

2015 Destiny Bay Magna Praemia

588,00 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
(784,00  / 1 L)
zzgl. Versand

Cabernet Franc

Waiheke Island

2015 Destiny Bay Destinae

170,00 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
(226,67  / 1 L)
zzgl. Versand

Cabernet Franc

Waiheke Island

2015 Destiny Bay Mystae

402,00 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
(536,00  / 1 L)
zzgl. Versand